take a stance

_antibullyingday1

 

We saw a lot of kids and grown-ups dressed in orange today in our school, and I should not be a cynic who thinks wearing a t-shirt in a certain colour changes really not so much (there are some other actions of course..). So I won’t think that..(although a quasi-free dress day without the obligatory donation would help in an otherwise uniformed school, too..) I just think it’s a bit vague and does not go very deep. Who would be FOR bullies anyway?
There has been no ‘autism awareness day’ (acceptance/month, whatever) in the school so far, and I have been explicitly told talking about autism might lead to bullying (..?) which basically only made me start this blog in September last year.
So April is coming around and so far I don’t know what is planned, I don’t know what to think again, is it really just about donning a bit of blue and say “Autism!” for one day? What is your take on ‘awareness days’ vs actual action, information, education?
Are you doing something in April ?

(Fun fact: our school uniform is already blue!)

3 thoughts on “take a stance

  1. PK

    Ugh, bullying pisses me off. So far, so good with my 7 year old, but I’m hair trigger in waiting for it. And that line “autism might lead to bullying…” – um, no – A$$holi-ness leads to bullying. I think that’s going to be my go to answer if I hear any question about what leads to bullying 😉 Feel free to borrow. Hugs!

    Like

    Reply
    1. suburp Post author

      I feel that especially at a young age, some teasing and producing reactions are almost understandable by the peers if they have no knowledge of how this feels for an autistic kid.
      I tread lightly w the school as I really need and want their support, but yeah, it bugs me how they reject education on autism. It would make it so much easier for the bystanders to step in. There’ll always be @$$holes who bully, that’s for sure, but education needs to help those who don’t to actually make that famous ‘stance’…

      Like

      Reply

leave a reply

