Autism and Halloween

_00Halloween33

Look. It’s simple: I like the spooky, the party and the candy. Nemo doesn’t.
Halloween is taking off big time in Australia, and while I am getting a little dizzy in the shops with all.that.stuff on offer, I am really fine with people having a good time, dressing up and being scary.
I have grown up with a similar tradition in Europe, we had a lot of fun as kids, too.
Yes, we tried. Twice. It wasn’t traumatic, but it was just not for him. And while he loved it as a toddler, now Nemo just doesn’t like the idea of ‘dressing up as someone else’ anymore. And he is not a big fan of zombies (and are zombies not everywhere nowadays? seriously..)
So yes, we will be the dark house on the street.
And I am fine with that, too. That’s all. Just keep that in mind. Some people won’t be doing Halloween and won’t be stocking tons of candy for your kids either, for all kinds of reasons.
And it shouldn’t be a big deal.

1 thought on “Autism and Halloween

  1. Rachel

    My boys loved Halloween as soon as they noticed it (they were very young) and begged me to go ‘trick or treating’ too, so after delaying it for one or two years until they were 4 and 5 respectively, I let them join in (it takes me a while to warm to a new idea especially when it might prove challenging- the boys and I are all on the autism spectrum). We sent around kind letters to our neighbours asking those interested in accepting ‘trick or treaters’ to put a balloon out front because I am very conscious of not rocking up to people’s doorsteps when not wanted or in your case when terrified. I get it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

leave a reply